I Think Jer is Cringing Inside at the Things I am Doing to This Book.

Heather sent me a comment the other day saying that she cracked the spine of her book and that is was the hardest thing for her to do. That cracked me up. I love books that look like they have been carried with someone through all the days of their life. The crinkled, bent edges, the occasional finger print in the margins, the cover peeling apart; all these things tell their own wonderful story about the journey this book has traveled with its reader. I like to imagine the person flipping to their favorite passage, over and over, so that the book, eventually, opens to that page, automatically. I like to picture them trying to cook and read at the same time, because they just can’t put it down, and the pages get stuck together with brownie mix or spaghetti sauce. I love finding notes or comments in the margins of used books. Especially the books that used to be my grandma’s. I cherish those like they were bars of solid gold. I can imagine her discussing, very animatedly, the themes of greek mythology or Shakespeare. I like the memories of her these books bring to life. So I say, don’t worry about a bent corner or a torn page. These are the things that will be cherished. These are the things that will show that this book has been loved.

Leave a Reply

