Three Things I Swore I Would Never Speak Of….

…but writing about them is, apparently, perfectly within my comfort zone.

I have been selected by Badass Geek to participate in the Three Confessions Quiz!! DA DA DA DAAAAAAA *onslaught of ominous music* This is good, since I realized that I had no idea what I wanted to write about and needed a swift kick in the creative pants. So thanks, Badass.


THE THREE CONFESSIONS QUIZ

Rules: Post three (3) confessions in your blog or journal. They can be as personal as you want them to be, so use your discretion. Write about your habits or idiosyncrasies, or something you did as a child… Anything at all. Most importantly, however, they must be something you’ve never written about in your blog or journal before. Once finished, tag/invite three different readers to do the quiz on their blog or journal.

1. My First Bout with Humiliation. When I was in 1st grade I was very close friends with a boy named Adam Hedgewald*. We did everything together. Had sleepovers, made snow cones with his Snoopy Snow Cone Maker, traded E.T. Trading Cards, and trashed most of his Star Wars Toys. Oh and we also like to hide in his closet, naked, and check each other out. Yep. We would strip down and, in all our childish curiosity, point at and inspect the various parts that differed from one another. It was pretty fascinating, I must say…until the one day when his father opened the closet door to find us in our afternoon inspection. I was a little embarrassed, but got over it pretty quickly. That is until we were standing in front of the coat rack the next day at school. Adam felt it necessary, even after the huge lecture from his father, to come up to me in front of everyone and announce that “Those parts were mine and these parts were his, and that we weren’t supposed to play with them,” pointing for clarification as he spoke. That is the first time I ever remember feeling that hot, sickly, stomach wrenching feeling of humiliation. I should have kicked him, repeatedly, in the balls. “THESE PARTS, ADAM? THESE RIGHT HERE? HUH?” As silly as it seems, even to this day, if I feel humiliated that scene plays through my mind. Kind of like my own personal ‘Nam. (Okay, that last part is total bullshit.)

*All names have been kept the same as I don’t give a shit if people know who you were. We were in 1st grade for Pete’s sake. Get over it.

2. The OCD of My Childhood. As a child, it was impossible for me to color anything with my Crayola 64 Pack and not use every crayon in this box. Did I feel like the Wax Devil would eat my soul or that my family would die if I didn’t? No, of course not. Don’t be ridiculous. I just didn’t want any of the colors to feel left out. I was a very sympathetic child. I just knew deep in my heart that little Burnt Umber would be sniffling in that box if I picked Yellow Ochre over him. I also had to arrange the crayons based on height and hue. My box of crayons was a work of art in itself. Crayola would have been proud.

3. Sleeping I cannot sleep if I think there is a possibility that someone is watching me. If I hear people up and around doing things, and my door is open, I either have to get up and close it or just get up for good. For some reason the thought of someone walking by and seeing me laying in bed sleeping totally weirds me out. The only times this doesn’t apply is when Jer and I are going to sleep for the night, but I can’t fall asleep facing him, and when I am sick and don’t care.

This concludes the divulgence into the mysterious world of Sus. Not the most exciting confession, but what can I say? Those secrets are between me, Jer, and this guy. And if you don’t like that, well you can just take the second star from the right and shove it straight up ’til morning.

I now tag Annie, Ashley B., and Heather to participate in this quiz. Please link back to this post. Good luck and God speed.

3 Responses

  1. I agree with the sleeping thing!

    I had to take part in a sleep-deprived sleep study at a hospital recently, where they were going to be video taping me while I slept. I had been awake for about 32 hours, and despite that, I could not sleep. The thought of some labcoats watching me in the other room swifty removed that possibility.

  2. Oh man, that Peter Pan guy has the midi file of “I Believe I Can Fly” on his webpage. Too much.

  3. Burnt umber was one of my favorite colors! It had depth and a cool name!
    Great confessions!

Leave a Reply

