Motherhood Sucks.

Not being a mom. No, that is amazing, awesome…I can’t wait to experience it to its fullest.

I am talking about Motherhood Maternity, the store. I went shopping this weekend for maternity clothes. I am getting to the point where I need to have a little more flexibility than what is hanging in my closet. So with credit card in hand, I went marching into the store on a quest to find something comfortable, yet classy and attractive. Little did I know how daunting my task would be. I dug and dug and dug through the racks until I finally found a few items I could tolerate. Didn’t love, just didn’t necessarily gag at the site of them. After trying them on I decided to purchase them with the thought that, if I wasn’t satisfied, I would just return them.

As my goods were being rung up, the lady working the counter says, “Now, so you know, our return policy is 10 days for store credit.”

Me: “I can’t get my money back?”

Lady: “No. You can only get credit for use in the store.”

Me: “So if I decide, 10 minutes after I have walked out of the store, that I don’t really want these after all, my only option is to come back and choose from the rest of the shit that I didn’t want, either?”

Lady: *no response..just stares at me, dumbfounded that I don’t find her gigantic hippy printed mumus to be the most attractive attire on the planet.*

Me: *Taking back my credit card* “Thank you for your help. I will be spending my money, elsewhere.”

Isn’t that the most ridiculous thing you have ever heard?! I probably wouldn’t have cared if they had had a better selection.

I ended up walking down to Macy’s to their maternity section, found a ton of cute items, and happily walked away with four new tops. The lady working the department was so helpful and said that I could return anything I wanted for cash, as long as they still had the tags. Now that is what I call “good service.”

On a funnier note, I saw that Lucky brand jeans makes their own version of maternity pants. ….for the bargain price of $120 dollars! Yeah right! Who in their right mind would spend that kind of money on pants that will be worn for maybe three months? That’s ridiculous. I don’t care how cute they are.

4 Responses

  1. Last summer, The Boss bought a swimsuit bottom that she later found out was a maternity piece.

    She wasn’t too pleased that her non-pregnant bottom half fit into a suit that was designed for a very-pregnant bottom half.

  2. Old Navy has some cute ones. And they are having a big sale right now. You might check there.

  3. I know! I have always hated trying clothes on in the stores so I purchase them and I if I do not like them I return them. The little bitches at Motherhood actually made me do the dressing room thing because of the return policy. . .

  4. I think that’s a ridiculous price, don’t get me wrong, but I just want to say that I, personally, wore my maternity jeans for A LOT longer than 3 months. Turns out I didn’t come home from the hospital as a fetching size 8 with a trim tummy. Uh…yeah.

Leave a Reply

