Sing! Sing a Song….

I have this thing with theme songs. I love them. Not theme songs from movies or game shows or the like, but themes songs that I determine for hypothetical (or potentially real) scenarios in my life. I have several theme songs; these are just a few of my favorites:

1) My “World Domination” Theme Song.
If I ever decided that I was going to pull a “Pinky and the Brain” and try to take over the world. This would be my song (specifically minute 4:32 – 4:53 played at a ridiculously loud volume). I imagine myself dressed something like this, the wind ripping my leather trench coat and hair out behind me as I lead my army of minions into battle. I don’t really have any dreams of world domination, honestly. I just think that I may have seen the Fifth Element one too many times.

2) The “Let’s Pick Up Your Toys” Theme Song
I know there will be a time when Rocket will be of the age when he needs to learn how to pick up after himself. I thought making a silly game of it would help him to see that keeping things tidy doesn’t have to be a huge chore. (This is also for myself as well. I am a bit cluttery…I’m working on it.) I picture us dancing around like a bunch of goof balls, laughing at our silliness and making funny poses while we drop his matchbox cars and legos into the toy box. This little ditty is what plays in my head when I think of this moment.

3) The “I’ve Started My Own Creepy Religion and I am Standing on a Balcony Blessing My People Like I am the Pope” Theme Song.
Again, I have no desire to do anything like this. This is just what happens inside my warped little head when I let my mind wander while the radio is on. Suffice it to say, this song would be the one I would choose as my personal “Ave Maria” or whatever the fuck you would call it.

Sometimes songs pop into my head when I am around certain people.

At my old job, my boss was a jackass. We gave him a song. We would actually play it on our speakers when he walked by but, because he was a total bag of douche, he never seemed to put two and two together.

Does anyone else do this? Explain yourself, please!

4 Responses

  1. I give certain periods of time Theme Songs. Like the summer of 2004 was “Two Girls” by Paranoid Social Club (a local band), and the winter of 2007-2008 was “I FUCKING HATE SNOW” by Yours Truly.

    I made the song up as a nearly broke my back shoveling the 10 feet of snow we got last winter.

  2. I do at times but I can not think of any but one now and it is this. p.s. Susie if this does not work delete it.

  3. My husband does two weird things. He can change the words to a song to fit something else. He can do it almost flawlessly, but can never repeat the same thing twice. It’s hard to explain, you just have to witness it. The other thing he will do is turn on his music on his phone and play the Imperial March as he’s walking around. It’s his “theme song”.

  4. Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

Leave a Reply

