More…well… A Few! Additional Revelations About Your Friend Sus.

Hmmm. Not as many questions as last time. Maybe I have already revealed too much about myself, here. I need to start being more coy, more mysterious.

So here are the questions I received from my open forum the other day.

Kicking it off with Jess from Zoe:
Dear Sus, I am dying to know. Thongs- Pure comfort in a practical design? Or heinous torture wedgie devices?
Also, what was the last book you read that you’re recommend reading.

It depends on the thong. I wouldn’t go so far as to call them a joy to wear…clearly joy is NOT actually everywhere. Especially not in a tiny piece of lycra rammed between my butt cheeks. But I wouldn’t call them tortuous either. They have their place. Like midgets and cowboys.

As far as a book recommendation, I have just finished the third book of the Pellinor series. This is youth fiction, so very VERY light reading, but all the same, I couldn’t put these down. They are great! If you are looking for something more adult, I would recommend A Dirty Job by Christopher Moore. He’s hilarious.

Miss Ashley asks:
Episiotomy or No Episiotomy?

Obviously if I have a choice, the answer is no episiotomy. However, if my vag is about to be parted like the red sea, I would appreciate a nice clean cut instead of the alternative. I guess I’ll just have to see how it goes.

And Moonspun finishes things up with her three inquiries:
What are your three favorite meals?
What are yout three favorite songs?
What is your favorite holiday and why?

If we are eating in (as in, I am cooking) my three favorite meals are: Lemon Up the Butt Chicken*, Meatloaf with Mashed Potatoes, and Spaghetti with Garlic Bread.
If we are eating out my three favorite meals are: Clam Chowder from Market Street, Steak Salad from Cafe Rio, and the Pulled Pork Sandwich and Roasted Potatoes from Sugarhouse BBQ.

*This is actually “The Perfect Roast Chicken” from The Barefoot Contessa. However it has been renamed in our household because of the preparation. I think you get the idea. It has also been called Lemonwinks Chicken after this lovely sketch from South Park.

My three favorite songs. Wow. Well, this can change depending on the genre, my mood, what’s happening in my life, etc. But I would say that the three songs that I continually return to are “Time After Time” by Cindy Lauper (yes, it’s true…shut up), “Paths of Desire” by October Project, and “Who’s Johnny” by El Debarge. TOTALLY KIDDING on that last one. It would definitely be “Harvest Time” by Thomas Newman.

My favorite holiday is a toss up between The Fourth of July and Christmas. I love blowing shit up! I also love the way it gets so quiet when there is new fallen snow. I could spend hours driving around looking at all the Christmas lights, and I love all the old, traditional Christmas carols, like Silent Night and O Come O Come Emmanuel. Not this new techno, “Simply havin’ a wonderful Christmas time” bullshit they play these days. Our family began a tradition a few years ago that combines these two holidays. We build gingerbread houses, filled with explosives. And then on Christman Eve, we blow them up! It’s sweet!! Hey, what else are you supposed to do with those stupid things? Here are some photos from last year’s Ginger Mania! As you can see, we take this very seriously.

Well that concludes this editions of “Getting to Know Sus.” I hope it was informative and educational.

9 Responses

  1. 1. someone in your family looks like will ferrell
    2. i see almond roca and I.AM.IN.LOVE
    3. HOLY SHIT YOU REALLY BLOW UP GINGERBREAD HOUSES??? I $#@&ING LOVE YOU PEOPLE!!!

  2. I was out for a few days and I missed the entry where we could ask questions. Damnit.

    I’ll have to wait for the next round.

  3. LilSass:
    1. Really? That’s funny.
    2. Yes, that is a heavenly treat, isn’t it.
    3. Fuck yeah, we do! IT. IS. AWESOME!!

    Badass: No worries. I am thinking of making this a monthly thing, so you will have plenty of chances to participate.

  4. How To Get Away With No Episiotomy:
    So depending on your husbands temperament, he’ll either love this or hate it LOL. But fyi, I managed no cut with my SECOND baby (and no stitches). Try NOT tearing over stiff scar tissue (not easy).
    Go here for instructions, it’s kinda graphic so I’ll spare your readers. http://www.ourmidwife.com.au/articles/massage.html
    Start with the massage now. Then when you go into labor, sit your cooter down on a hot wet washcloth, have a little more massage… I did a lot of Midwife training so ask me anything – I’ll give you a graphic & detailed answer. lol xo

  5. Rachel: I LOVE that you used the word “cooter”! Please tell me that was part of the terminology in your Midwife training!

  6. I even checked your blog yesterday and totally missed the call for questions. Ah well. Next time?

  7. Miss Grace: Yes. Definitely next time. I look forward to it!

  8. OH MY GOD!!!! I LOVE the pics of the Gingerbread house blow ups…everyone was SO serious making this great looking creations, JUST to destroy them. I’ve never seen anything like that in my life. That was fantastic!
    Thanks for answering all of my inquiries…and others. Great post!

  9. Blowing up gingerbread houses is too damn funny! I was surprised to see that they were not blown to bits. Great building skills, I guess.

Leave a Reply

