26 Days and Counting

That’s right. Only 26 days until Rocket’s due date! I can’t believe how quickly the time has passed. Almost too quickly to tell you the truth. Don’t get me wrong; I am more excited than I ever imagined to kiss his little chin and to place his little feeties on my cheeks as I smile down at him and sing him little songs. But as far as being ready in the “we have a crib and bottles” sense, I could use a few more months.

My last day of work is the 21st of November. I am cutting it a little close to my due date, I know, but I figure I feel great, my job is easy, and my work is actually closer to where I will be giving birth than my home is, so if I do go into labor early it will be much more convenient. Although, I do not like the idea of possibly having my water break in my cubicle and having to ask my boss to drive me to the hospital. Um….AWKWARD! Hopefully it will happen while I am shaking the hand of a visiting client. That would be awesome. Sorry. I spilled something on your shoes.

I will be on maternity leave for about 3 weeks. After that I will be working from home! I am thrilled that my company is willing to work with me and to let me do this. But I am also nervous. I worry that I will not be diligent enough to actually work. So for those of you who work from home, if you have any pointers, suggestions, words of advice, they would be greatly appreciated. I am not the most organized person, in fact far from it. So anything that you have found to keep things in order would also be helpful and appreciated information as well.

And speaking of no time…better get back to work….

5 Responses

  1. Ha! I’m not even good staying focused and working while at work let alone with a cute little baby vying for your attention! Errr yeah Im at work right now posting a comment on your blog and for no good reason because I have no advice…. anyhoo… I wish you the best of luck with that one.

  2. I’ve worked from home for the past year. The way that I’ve found I can stay focused is to not deny yourself things that would be distracting. If you find yourself wishing you had something because you know you are at home, you won’t concentrate. Breaking the day into segments helps, too. Not that you’ll be busy at all, what with work and a baby.

  3. Wow! I think we are all excited to meet Rocket! I haven’t worked from home myself. But from what I do hear, it’s important to try to have a space in your home that is a work area and nothing else. So it’s easier to focus on that. Any kind of physical separation would help.
    that’s great that you are able to do that!

  4. Oh, darling, asking me for advice on that subject is too funny! I guess it depends on what kind of work you do. For me, I go take a job, and unless it expedites, I have two weeks to get it to them. Guess when I start working on the transcript…
    The night before, of course.

    I think, though, if I had a job where I had to have things done daily that I’d be better off. Having too much time is a bad thing for me. Good luck!

    My water never broke until they did it a week past my damn due date, which is very common. You’ll be fine!

  5. Whoo hoo!

Leave a Reply

