Listography: Grandma Luke

My mom mentioned the other day that it had been three years since her mother passed. Although in the back of my mind I already knew this, I was blown away. I can’t believe so much time has gone by. I think about her everyday. I miss her so much. Sometimes I am filled with so much regret that I didn’t see her more often, when I could have so easily. I think I saw her more when she was living in Santa Barbara, than when she was living a mere two miles from me. I wish desperately that she could have met Oliver. I know they would have adored and loved each other.

Taking inspiration from a recent blog post of my friend, Melissa, I have decided that this week’s list will be comprised of things that I loved and remember about my grandma.

1. Having her shriek with joy when we finally arrived at their house in California.

2. Eating mandarine oranges right off of the tree in her backyard.

3. Listening to the sound of her sewing machine whirring as she sewed you any costume you could possibly fathom.

4. Her bread hot from the oven.

5. The way she always smelled of witch hazel.

6. Stealing bottles of Martinelli’s from the garage to drink in their entirety while watching Clash of the Titans, Mr. Mom, or Gigi.

7. Going to see plays and musicals often starring her past students.

8. Playing duets with her on her piano.

9. Going to Disneyland with her for my 11th birthday.

10. Driving to Solvang and getting frozen yogurt at Penguins.

11. Her vast collection of costume jewelry. She had the coolest, quirkiest necklaces and rings.

12. Listening to her tell the story of “Prinderella and the Cince.”

13. Her burgundy thigh high boots.

14. The way my grandparent’s home always smelled of gardenias and the ocean.

15. The way she would act as if she had died and gone to heaven whenever she ate macadamia nuts.

16. Going to Italy.

17. Using her laundry chute as a means of getting from the house’s second floor to the the first floor and vice versa.

18. Going to Von’s and loading ALL of the groceries into the WRONG vehicle. (That is a story for another day.)

19. Swimming at The Racquet Club.

20. Her dishes painted with various vegetables and fruits.

21. Going to the Santa Barbara Arts Festival.

22. Having her take me to Piccadilly Square to get my ears pierced.

23. Helping her make her bed with her freshly washed and ironed sheets. Then climbing under the huge down comforter to snuggle.

24. Her gold chair which is now in Oliver’s bedroom.

25. Seeing my grandparent’s car in the driveway and sneaking in to wake them up after their late arrival to our house in Salt Lake.

26. Her love of Pepsi and Fresca.

27. Her white Keds.

28. Her cackling laugh that was often followed by a wheezing influx of air.

29. Her baby blue vinyl padded toilet seat.

30. Going to see The Jungle Book and E.T. in the movie theater.

31. King’s Hawaiian Bread.

32. Homemade orange juice popsicles.

33. Sunday Pot Roast.

34. The way she would say she “had to put her face on” before we could leave the house.

35. Her vast knowledge of Shakespeare and Greek mythology. She could rattle off any story or scene you could think of.

36. The way she would use the word “marvelous” to describe things that she loved.

…and on and on and on….

4 Responses

  1. I love this. It sounds like your Grandma was an amazing woman. ((HUGS)) my friend.

  2. Just lovely, Sus. I wish I could have met her.

  3. She sounds like a real cool lady!
    I loved reading your list.
    And I definitely want to hear about the story at Von’s! I almost did that with my baby once. But there was no car seat. It took way longer than it should have to figure it out.

    Grandma’s are the BEST.

  4. Beautiful, Sus. She sounds amazing, and you’ve obviously inherited her love of life. (((HUGS)))

Leave a Reply

