Listography: Books on my “I Want to Read” List

  • This House of Sky: Landscapes of a Western Mind – Ivan Doig
  • Keeping Keller – Tracy Winegar
  • The Taking – Dean Koontz
  • Princess Academy – Shannon Hale
  • Left Handed, Son of Old Man Hat: A Navajo Autobiography – Left Handed
  • Bloodsucking Fiends: A Love Story – Christopher Moore
  • The Fire – Katherine Neville
  • How to See Yourself as You Really Are – Dalai Lama XIV
  • The Road to Home – Vanessa Del Fabbro
  • A Year Down Yonder – Richard Peck
  • The Folk Keeper – Franny Billingsly
  • Follow the River – James Alexander Thom
  • These is My Words – Nancy E. Turner
  • The Diary of Mattie Spencer – Sandra Dallas
  • Inkdeath – Cornelia Funke
  • Sometimes a Great Notion – Ken Kesey
  • Against Medical Advice: A True Story – James Patterson
  • Anyone read any of these? What did you think?

5 Responses

  1. I love your lists! These sound great. I’ve only read 2 of them, but both are good. ‘Princess Academy” is great. I love Shannon Hale, she used to be in my ward, back when she was writing her first published book, and she’s awesome, so I might be biased on her stuff. I do like her writing style, she’s a great story teller.

    “These is my words”. I know I read it, but there are a few books I read immediately following the birth of my twins and I can’t remember anything about them, except I that I liked this one.

    Your dream/nightmare totally freaked me out!! I hate hate HATE it when crazy stuff like that happens, it weirds me out for days.

  2. You will absolutely love “Bloodsucking Fiends”. Hilarious and very well-written. The first sequel to it, “You Suck”, is very good, too. Haven’t had a chance to read the 2nd sequel yet, but both involve characters from Moore’s other books (“Dirty Job” and “Practical Demonkeeping”).

    • I read “You Suck” before I realized it was part of a series. Loved it! And “Dirty Job” is my second favorite of his, only to be topped by “Lamb.”

      • I think “Lamb” ranks up there as one of my favorite books. It’s certainly in the top 5. I think I may need to read it again, just to be sure. 🙂

  3. # Princess Academy – Shannon Hale
    # Left Handed, Son of Old Man Hat: A Navajo Autobiography – Left Handed
    # Bloodsucking Fiends: A Love Story – Christopher Moore
    # The Fire – Katherine Neville
    # How to See Yourself as You Really Are – Dalai Lama XIV
    # The Diary of Mattie Spencer – Sandra Dallas
    # Inkdeath – Cornelia Funke

    I have and own all of these if you want to borrow. I loved A Navajo Autobiography. It was so easy to read and fascinating. I started the Dalai Lama book and for me I just can’t get into it because I just don’t think the same way of the universe but I have heard many people say that it is wonderful.

Leave a Reply

